How Do I Edit Organisation Seats?
+-

To update the number of seats in eToolLCD, all you need to do is follow the steps below:
  1. Navigate to your Organisation Portal
  2. Click on ‘Manage Users’
  3. Click on ‘Edit Purchased Seats’
  4. Change payment method: If you wish to continue with a monthly subscription (you will need to have your card details on hand), please choose the following payment option:

    If you wish to continue with an annual subscription, please choose the following payment option (the software will automatically notify us via email that you’ve updated your annual subscription and our BD team will contact you with the updated invoice):
  5. Change the number of seats as required. This should include both new and existing seats that you wish to retain.
  6. Click ‘Next’ to complete the update.

How Many Certification Requests Can I Submit At A Time?
+-

Depending on the type of subscription, you’re only allowed to submit ONE certification per user or per seat at a time.
 
 
Please consider upgrading to the Specialist Hotseat to enjoy the advantage of automated seat allocations so that each user in your organisation can submit a design for certification with added convenience and speed.
 
 

In-flight Certifications On Hold For Long Periods

Having certifications in flight for long periods expose a vulnerability in the review process as there is no way to ‘lock’ the design from getting edited in the interim. As a reviewer, if weeks/months have passed between reviews, there is no way to ensure that the user hasn’t made any undeclared changes to the design without conducting the review all over again which is time consuming.
 
Nonetheless, we understand that things can change with projects which are outside of your control (i.e. projects getting put on hold indefinitely). Therefore if circumstances change with a certification where you are unable to update the LCA due to missing information, you can choose the following two options to proceed:
  • RECOMMENDED whenever possible: complete the certification ‘as-is’ so that the design is ‘locked’ which will speed up the future review process if/when the project gets restarted again. This is because the reviewer will only need to compare the difference between the new cloned & updated design versus the previously certified/locked design. This is particularly important especially if the reviewer has already completed the first initial review. Note that you can ALWAYS get your design certified without responding to any of the reviewer’s feedback if you do not wish to do so bearing in mind that the relevant quality checks & comments will be left in question to highlight the reviewer’s concerns for reference.
  • Only if the initial round of reviews have not been completed: ‘Un-certify’ the design to take it off the certification queue. This is only recommended if the reviewer has not started the initial review yet. If the certification has not been assigned to a reviewer then it would be safe for you to take it off the queue. However if it has already been assigned, please notify the reviewer of your intention to take the design off the certification queue before you click ‘un-certify’ so that they won’t inadvertently waste time completing the initial review only to find out that you’ve taken it off the certification queue.
Getting your design certified as quickly as possible is important so that a ‘line can be drawn in the sand’ with regards to where the design is at that point in time and lock the design. When a certification is put ‘on-hold’ and left in-flight, it compromises the review process as it would be inefficient to review the whole design again to ensure no undeclared changes have been made to the design when you’re ready to come back to it. By locking (certifying) the design at the point before it is put on hold, the reviewer has a reliable reference point from which to continue the review of the updated design.
 
Even though the certified design has been locked, you can always clone the design to continue updating it immediately afterwards. All paid subscriptions can have up to 6 certifications per project. Exemptions may be negotiated case by case if you exceed this number, however it is very rare that you’ll need more than 6 designs certified for the same project. For users who may have difficult clients that are constantly requesting for design updates, we suggest that you give them a deadline for their update requests so that you can limit the number of times you’ll need to submit your design for certification.
 
So from a reviewer’s perspective, you don’t submit a design for certification unless it is ready or necessary to be reviewed so that the whole review process can be completed quickly and efficiently to minimise the review process getting compromised.
 

How can LCA models be shared and transferred in eTool?
+-

The Consultant Plan is intended for individual LCA practitioners. The account is linked with the user email address and all intellectual property (IP) data and LCA modelling belongs to the user and not the organisation who pays for the subscription.

Will your employer want access to your LCA models after you move roles or otherwise stop using eTool? If so, you need the Enterprise or Specialist plan as the Consultant plan does not allow sharing or transferring of models between users during or after your subscription.

We set the Enterprise plan so that businesses who want to retain their IP can do so and eTool can support this practice in a legal manner.  If you are a business that wants to retain your IP as staff transition in and out of your organisation, you will need the Enterprise or Specialist plan.


Related Posts:

Can you transfer a user’s data to my account?

Cancelling My Consultant Plan – What Do I Need To Know?

What Benefit Does My Organisation get with the Enterprise subscription?

How to Update My Personal Subscription/Payment Details?

How Do I Make A Support Request

 

 

Can you transfer a user's data to my account?
+-

Technically yes, legally no. Our terms are quite specific about data ownership, see the below extract with the red highlighted text:

Subscriber Data
By using the Platform, certain data and design documentation will be uploaded and entered into The Platform. The Subscriber retains all of their right, title and interest in and to its Data, and ownership of such Data shall not be transferred to eTool under this agreement. Subscribers grant us a nonexclusive license to use Data to deliver Services to authorized users of the Platform, solely in connection with the Structure and further grants us a non-exclusive, worldwide, perpetual license to use usage data (such as, by way of example and not by way of limitation, aggregated and / or averaged Structure performance information) in an aggregated form that does not identify individual persons or organizations, in order to compile statistics regarding life cycle environment and cost impacts, report on the Platform usage and/or to improve the Services.

Our agreement is with the Subscriber (regardless of who pays the bill for the subscriber).  So for non-enterprise users it’s the user themselves who owns the data.  We can’t transfer it or copy it without their consent.  The Enterprise, Specialist & Specialist Hotseat subscriptions have enterprise functionality so that businesses who want to retain their IP can do so and Cerclos can support this practice in a legal manner.  If you are a business that wants to retain your IP as staff transition in and out of your organisation, you will need one of these subscriptions.

If a Consultant plan subscribe gave us consent to transfer data between accounts the actual process is a manual task that has risk associated with it depending on the data in question.  For this reason, Cerclos may refuse the request, or charge a fee for the service if it is agreed to proceed.


Related Posts:

Cancelling My Plan – What Do I Need To Know?

What Benefit Does My Organisation get with the Enterprise subscription?

How to Update My Personal Subscription/Payment Details?

How Do I Make A Support Request